Winners of Humayun Ahmed Award announced

11 Nov 2017, 21:20

Online Desk

Dhaka: Jyoti Prakash Dutta and Mozaffar Hossain will receive Exim Bank-Anyadin Humayun Ahmed Literary Award this year .

The award will be presented at an award giving ceremony on Sunday at the Abdul Karim Sahitya Bisharad Auditorium of Bangla Academy ahead of late iconic Humayun Ahmed's birth anniversary on November 13.

Jyoti Prakash Dutta has been selected for the award in recognition of his contribution to the field of literature while Mozaffar Hossain has been selected in the young writer category for his novel 'Otit Ekta Vindesh'.

Finance Minister Abul Maal Abdul Muhith will attend the award ceremony as chief guest while Cultural Affairs Minister Asaduzzaman Noor will be present as special guest.

Humayun Ahmed's widow Meher Afroz Shaon will present the songs of Humayun Ahmed at the ceremony while the ceremony will be presided over by Professor Emeritus Anisuzzaman.

Alognside, Jyoti Prakash Dutta will receive a cheque of Tk 5 lakh while Mozaffar Hossain will receive a cheque of Tk 1 lakh along with crest, Uttorio and certificate.

Exim Bank and fortnightly magazine Anyadin jointly introduced Exim Bank-Anyadin Humayun Ahmed Sahitya Puruskar, to be awarded to two writers every year on November 12, on the eve of Humayun's birth anniversary.

Last year novelist Hasan Azizul Haque received the award for his contribution to Bangla literature and Sikrita Noman in the young writer category for his novel 'Kalkeuter Suk' (The happiness of Cobra).