PM formally opens BGB’s Ramu headquarters, 2 new battalions

08 Nov 2018, 13:06 | updated: 08 Nov 2018, 13:07

NTV Online
Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina. File photo

Dhaka: Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina on Thursday formally opened the newly set up BGB Ramu region headquarters and its newly formed Narayanganj and Gazipur battalions by raising the BGB flag.

The flag hoisting ceremony was held at the headquarters of Border Guard Bangladesh (BGB) at Peelkhana in the city.

Home Minister Asaduzzaman Khan and BGB Director General Major General Md Shafeenul Islam were, among others, present on the occasion.

According to BGB website, BGB has a total of five region headquarters, including the newly formed Ramu region headquarters, Cox’s Bazar.

The four other region headquarters are South-West Region, North-West Region, North-East Region and South-East Region.

The Ramu regional headquarters has been formed on an adhoc basis to step up surveillance on Bangladesh-Myanmar borders, prevent smuggling of goods, particularly Yaba, and resist different terrorist and militant groups and any possible untoward incidents along the borders.

There are seven battalions of two sectors — Cox’s Bazar Sector and Bandarban Sector — and the regional intelligence bureau under the Ramu Region Headquarters. The seven battalions include Cox’s Bazar, Naikkhongchhari, Teknaf, Ramu, Bolipara, Ruma and Ali Kadam.

The newly formed Narayanganj and Gazipur battalions have started their operation with limited manpower.

Besides, a process is underway to form two more battalions at Abdullapur and Savar in Dhaka.

Now the BGB is operated through its 12 sectors, 47 battalions and many other border outposts.

The government created four new regions, four new sectors and 15 battalions, including ICT battalion, for BGB after it returned to power in 2009.