Bangladesh elected ICC Bureau member for next 2 yrs

06 Dec 2018, 18:59

NTV Online

Dhaka: Bangladesh has been elected member of the International Criminal Court (ICC) Bureau of Assembly for the next two years (2019-2020).

The unanimous decision was made at the seventeenth session of the Assembly of States Parties to the Rome Statute at The Hague, the Netherlands. The Assembly began on December 5 and will end on December 12, reports the UNB.

A total of 123 countries are States Parties to the Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court (ICC).

The ICC Bureau of Assembly consists of a President, two Vice-Presidents and 18 members elected by the Assembly.

Bangladesh for the first time is going to play its role as a member of the Bureau since Bangladesh’s journey with the ICC as a member state, said the Foreign Ministry here on Thursday.

Bangladesh, South Korea and Japan have been elected for 2019 while Bangladesh, South Korea and Palestine for 2020 as members from the Asia-Pacific region.

The Bureau has a representative character, taking into account, in particular, equitable geographical distribution and the adequate representation of the principal legal systems of the world.