5 DU students get 'Editor Abdus Salam Memorial Scholarship'

16 Jul 2017, 22:43

Online Desk

Dhaka: Dhaka University on Sunday conferred renowned journalist Shahed Kamal with the 'Editor Abdus Salam Memorial Trust Lifetime Achievement Award' for his outstanding contribution to journalism in Bangladesh.

Beside, five students of Mass Communication and Journalism (MCJ) Department of Dhaka University received the 'Editor Abdus Salam Memorial Scholarship' for their excellent academic results.

The recipients are Faruq Hossain, Md Jahidur Rahman, Md Mahmudul Hasan, Najmul Hasan and Hosneyara.

Vice-Chancellor Prof AAMS Arefin Siddique handed over the award and scholarships as a chief guest at Professor Muzaffar Ahmed Chowdhury auditorium at Social Sciences faculty of the university.

The MCJ department organised the award distribution ceremony.

Presided over by DU Treasurer Prof Md Kamal Uddin, the function was attended, among others, by MCJ Department chairman Prof Mofizur Rahman as special guest, Rehana Salam, daughter of late editor Abdus Salam, and family members of renowned journalist late ABM Musa.

MCJ Department Honorary Professor Sakhawat Ali Khan delivered 'Editor Abdus Salam Memorial Lecture' at the function.