India clinch Asia Cup Hockey 2017 title for 3rd time

Pakistan finish 3rd beating South Korea 6-3

22 Oct 2017, 20:58 | updated: 22 Oct 2017, 21:25

Online Desk

Dhaka: India clinched the title of the eight-nation Hero 10th Men's Asia Cup Hockey after 10 years with unbeaten record defeating new finalist Malaysia by 2-1 at the floodlit Maulana Bhashani National Stadium here on Sunday.

This is the 3rd Asia Cup crown after 2007 and 2003 for India which will host next year's Hockey World Cup in Bhuveneshwar in November-December.

Three times champions Pakistan finished 3rd in the eight-nation meet outplaying defending champions South Korea by 6-3 goals in a place-deciding match at the same venue earlier in the day.

Road Transport and Bridges Minister and General Secretary of ruling Awami League Obaidul Quader distributed prizes. State Minister for Youth and Sports Dr Biren Shikder and Deputy Minister for Youth and Sports Arif Khan Joy were also present.

In the final, Ramandeep Singh and Lalit Upadhyay scored for India in the half time of two quarters while Saabah Shahril contributed the lone goal for Malaysia in the 50th minute of the last quarter playing an all-out attacking game.

Ramandeep scored first for India in the very 3rd minute by pushing the ball to empty net by his 2nd attempt from a handshake distance off a Sunil pass (1-0) to lead the first quarter by 1-0 goal.

Lalit Upadhyay sounded the Indian margin in the 29th minute connecting an angular hit Sumit (2-0) to dominate the half time by 2-0 goals.

After a barren 3rd quarter, Malaysia started an all-out attacking game in the 4th and last quarter cornering their giant rivals India and took its fruit when their Saabah Shahril reduced the margin by returning hit from melee off a combined attack of Ramadan and Arshad came to his way hitting opponent custodian.

After the reducing the margin, the total scenario of the match changed and Malaysia forced India to play in their territory for most of the period with attack one after another.

Later, Akashdeep Singh of India was adjudged man of the final while Faizal Saari of Malaysia named player of the tournament.

Bangladesh finished 5th in the eight-nation fray.

Meanwhile, Bangladesh Sports Press Association awarded Farhad Shetul as the best player of Bangladesh.