ICRC T20 cricket for physically challenged begins Sunday

16 Dec 2017, 22:10

NTV Online
File photo.

The International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) T20 cricket tournament for the physically challenged begins tomorrow (Sunday) at Jagannath Hall University ground.

State Minister for Youth and Sports Dr. Biren Sikder is expected to inaugurate it as chief guest, reports the BSS.

In continuation of ICRC’s endeavours to promote social inclusion through sports, the tournament aims to highlight skills and efforts of physical challenged cricketers, helping them reintegrate into the mainstream society gradually.

Six teams, three from Dhaka and three from other districts, split into two groups, will compete for the trophy of the five-day meet.

The final match will be held on Thursday (December 21).

People with clear and visible physical challenges/disabilities and having a sound knowledge of the game are participating in the tournament to showcase their talents.

However, players with intellectual disability, visual and hearing impairments, minor amputation, fracture, wheelchair user, balance and coordination problems were discouraged to attend due to high risk of re- injuries.

ICRC believes sport can help reduce the stigma and discrimination associated with disabilities because it can transform community attitudes about physically challenged people by highlighting their skills and aptitudes reducing the tendency to see the disability instead of the person.

Hence, ICRC together with its partners promotes sport activities that allow disabled people to receive opportunity to be as active as non-disabled people.


Participating teams:

Group A includes, Bangladesh Cricket Association for the Physically Challenged (BCAPC), Dhaka, ARDRID Physically Challenged Cricket team, Dhaka and Duronto Lalmonirhat Physical Challenge Cricket team, Lalmonirhat.

Group B includes: CRP Physically Challenged Cricket team, Savar, Dhaka, Dream for Disability Foundation Physical Challenge Cricket team Brahmanbaria and Gazipur Glorious Disable Cricket Club, Gazipur.