Saff U-15 Women’s Championship

Bangladesh win title thrashing India

24 Dec 2017, 16:03 | updated: 24 Dec 2017, 20:27

NTV Online
Photo: Collected


Dhaka: Bangladesh clinched the SAFF U15 Women’s Championship title with Shamsunnahar scoring the match winner solitary goal against India in the final at Birshrestha Shaheed Sepoy Mohammad Mostafa Kamal Stadium in Kamalapur on Sunday.

Shamsunnahar materialised the dream success with a back-volley from goalmouth in the 41st minute. Tahura Khatun delivered a cross from left flank to Shamsunnahar who carried the ball inside the six-yard box and blended the Indian defenders before her finishing touch to fire the net.

Both sides played their attacking game with showing carful one-touch-football and Bangladesh forward Tahura, who made a hat-trick in the with three goals against Nepal in the league second match, was guarded by two defenders almost all the match while another forward Monika Chakma was not free from defending watchdogs of India.

Bangladesh kept controlled over the ball dominated almost 65 percent of the match amid low-merited refereeing which out raged the crowed packed stadium to shout and the head coach of Bangladesh Golam Rabbani Choton termed as ‘poor refereeing’ in the post-match press conference.

Earlier, in the 39th minute, forward Tahura Khatun carried the ball from midfield and deceived the defenders inside the box before her weaker short was saved by goalie.

Tahura again missed another golden opportunity in the 61st minute as she was seen nervous before taking the shot from the box in a one on one situation, giving the opportunity to opponent defenders to clear the ball.

Indians were dying hearted for a death bite, forwarding their defending line above the midfield in the midway of the 2nd half and crated couples of chances within the next 10 to 15 minutes, but all their efforts went in vain ahead of defenders Akhi Khatun,Anai Mogini and the Mahmuda Akther.

Bangladesh rearranged their strength, breaking Indian strategy of playing above the midfield for the cost of more than 10 off sides, and continued their dominance in the game.

This is the first time Bangladesh clinched any age-level international tournament title without conceding any goals with all-win record. Including the day’s one goal in the final, Bangladesh scored 13 goals in the four matches of the tournament as they earlier, beat India by 3-0, Bhutan by 3-0 and Nepal by 6-0 in the league stage battles.

Bangladesh team defender Akhi Khatun who scored two goals for a 3-0 win against Bhutan and showed doughty performance throughout the tournament on artificial turf was adjudged most valuable player of the tournament.

Indian forward Priyanga Devi Naorem was adjudged highest scorer of the tournament scoring four goals with a hat-trick of three goals against Nepal and one goal in tournament opener against Bhutan for 10-0 and 3-0 victories.

Finance Minister AMA Muhith handed over the championship trophy to the winners as the chief guest in the closing ceremony of the week-long tournament.

Deputy Minister for Youth and Sports Arif Khan Joy announced $ 6000 bonus money for the players on behalf of the sports-friendly Government of the People Republic of Bangladesh.

Bangladesh Football Federation president Kazi Salahuddin, BFF senior vice president Abdus Salam Murshedy, BFF general secretary Abu Nyeem Sohag and BFF Women’s Football Wing Chairmen and a member of the FIFA Council Mahfuza Akhter Kiron also present in the occasion with others.