Mahmudullah made T20 captain

13 Feb 2018, 19:19

NTV Online
File: Photo

Dhaka: Cool headed Mahmudullah Riyad will lead the T20 team also as captain against Sri Lanka on Thursday.

Bangladesh have picked six uncapped players in the squad for the first T20I against Sri Lanka on February 15.

The inclusions of Abu Jayed, Ariful Haque, Mahedi Hasan, Zakir Hasan, Afif Hossain and Nazmul Islam Apu are among the eight changes in the side, which also sees the return of Abu Hider after two years.

Seamer Jayed was the second highest wicket-taker in the 2017 BPL, while Mahedi took 10 wickets at 25.70. Ariful was the highest run-scorer among the uncapped Bangladeshi batsmen, having played match-winning knocks for Khulna Titans, while Zakir is a wicketkeeper-batsman who was impressive in this year's BPL.

Bangladesh squad: Mahmudullah Riyad (capt), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim, Sabbir Rahman, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin, Abu Hider, Abu Jayed, Ariful Haque, Mahedi Hasan, Zakir Hasan, Afif Hossain and Nazmul Islam Apu.