Dynamites knock Riders out to rally to Final

06 Feb 2019, 22:43

NTV Online

Dhaka: Dhaka Dynamites blasted through to the final of Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) on Wednesday, defeating defending champions Rangpur Riders in the second Qualifier by five wickets at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium, reports the UNB.

It was a sweet revenge for the Dynamites who had lost in the 2017 BPL final against Riders.

The final of this season is scheduled for February 8.

Dynamites were dominating throughout the match. They first restricted Riders to 142 and then chased down the target in 16.4 overs (147/5). Andre Russell remained unbeaten on 40 off 19 deliveries with five massive sixes.

Earlier, Rubel Hossain, the right-arm national pacer took four wickets for the Dynamites. He was adjudged the man of the match.

While chasing, Dynamites lost the first wicket in the first over while Upul Tharanga skied to the mid-on and Nahidul Islam took the catch. Mashrafe Bin Mortaza, the Riders captain, helped his team with the first breakthrough.

In the second wicket stand of Sunil Narine and Rony Talukdar, Dynamites added 37 runs. Narine was the second batsman to get dismissed scoring 14 off eight deliveries.

Dynamites lost another three wickets inside 100 runs as Shakib Al Hasan (23), Keiron Pollard (14) and Rony Talukdar (35) failed to finish it up.

Mashrafe scalped two wickets while Nazmul Islam Apu and Benny Howell took one each for the Riders. But their effort went in vain as they lost the match.

Earlier, Riders were all out in 19.4 overs. Ravi Bopara struck 49 off 43 deliveries – the highest individual score for the Riders in the match.

They had a good start with Chris Gayle and Nadif Chowdhury. The latter struck three consecutive sixes off Shuvagata Hom before being dismissed in the last ball of fourth over. Riders were at 42 when they lost Nadif.

They faced a big blow at the start of the fourth over when Rubel scalped Gayle and Rilee Rossouw in two successive deliveries. Gyale poked a ball outside the off stump to the keeper.

The next delivery was a short one. Rilee went to pull it off but failed horribly and skied it. Keiron Pollard took an easy catch and Riders were down to 42/3 from 42/0 in 4.2 overs.

However, in the fourth wicket stand, Mohammad Mithun and Bopara added 64 runs to repair the initial damage. Mithun fell for 38 off 27 deliveries. He was dismissed by Qazi Onik.

After Mithun’s dismissal, Benny Howell fell for three and Riders were in big trouble losing five wickets for 109 inside 15 overs. They scored 33 runs in the last five overs losing the remaining wickets. In the last over, Bopara struck Rubel for two fours and a six before being dismissed.

For the Dynamites, Andre Russell and Onik took two wickets each and Shuvagata Hom and Shakib took one each.

Dynamites will face Comilla Victorians on February 8 at the same venue at 6pm. Both of them will fight for their second title.