Tri-series final

Bangladesh opt to field, no Shakib

17 May 2019, 15:27 | updated: 17 May 2019, 15:29

NTV Online

Bangladesh won the toss and decided to bowl first against Windies in the tri-series final at the Malahide in Dublin on Friday.

Bangladesh is playing without Shakib Al Hasan, who is still recovering from a back spasm. Rubel, Jayed and Liton are not playing as well.

Bolstered by their ruthless performance, Bangladesh are determined to come all guns blazing to win a trophy that eluded them six times in a tournament involving three or four teams when they take on West Indies today.

The match starts at 3:45 PM Bangladesh Standard Time.

Stake is high this time around for The Tigers because of the overwhelming and sheer domination with which they have won every game played in the group phase and finish as the unbeaten group champion.

In a double-league tournament, Bangladesh recorded a crushing eight and five wickets win over West Indies, then beat Ireland by six wickets, chasing 293-run target in the last match. Their first fixture against the hosts Ireland was washed out without a ball being bowled due to heavy rain.

If they emulate the same performance for one more time, the trend of losing the final in multinational tournament will be broken and provide them a timely impetus ahead of the ICC Cricket World Cup, the cricket’s biggest extravaganza in which they are going with high hopes.

Bangladesh had already lost six finals, three straight in 2018 itself, making them vulnerable in crucial moments of the game. The fear of heartbreak shouldn’t be written off because their lower middle order so far remains untested in the ongoing tournament.

So strong was their top order’s performance in the tournament that the service of the lower middle order was not needed. Bangladesh would pray that the story will go according to the script: the top order and middle order would continue their domination to complement the bowlers’ job.

Bangladesh: 1 Tamim Iqbal, 2 Soumya Sarkar, 3 Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), 4 Mohammad Mithun, 5 Mahmudullah, 6, Mossaddek Hussain, 7 Sabbir Rahman, 8 Mohammed Saifuddin, 9 Mehidy Hasan Miraz, 10 Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), 11 Mustafizur Rahman

West Indies XI: 1 Sunil Ambris, 2 Shai Hope (wk), 3 Darren Bravo, 4 Roston Chase, 5 Jonathan Carter, 6 Jason Holder (capt), 7 Fabian Allen, 8 Ashley Nurse, 9 Kemar Roach, 10 Ramon Reiffer, 11 Shannon Gabriel